I made a friend.. - Reisverslag uit Lusaka, Zambia van Janno Laan - WaarBenJij.nu I made a friend.. - Reisverslag uit Lusaka, Zambia van Janno Laan - WaarBenJij.nu

I made a friend..

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Janno

30 Oktober 2008 | Zambia, Lusaka

When somebody asked me how I picture Africa I said ‘I picture Africa as a wrinkled face. Each wrinkle telling its own story.’ I just want to tell you about two of these wrinkles, introducing you to two people I met.

Jefferson

Meet Jefferson. Jefferson lives in the bush. He likes the bush. Jefferson serves us breakfast and lunch and cooks us dinner while we’re staying in the bush. Jefferson is an amazing cook, he could easily work for some fancy restaurant if you ask me. He baked me a carrotcake for my birthday (veron’s idea). He is a servant (like many here are) of a british guy who runs the game farm we are staying on for the weekend. As the park is privately owned by the number three of Microsoft, who has no time to visit the park, the park stays empty most of the time. The british guy just sits in his house and watches tv every day, from what I’ve heard. Jefferson is like most Zambians I met extremely humble and when I talk to him he alternates every sentence with a ‘oh, thank you’ in between. When we leave, David asks Jefferson what we could bring for him the next time we are here, something for the kitchen David proposes, thinking of some baking pans or other useful equipment. ‘A pack of backing flour, please’ he responds. Who on earth can better use a pack of backing flour than Jefferson I think to myself, I’m sure he would bake wonderful things with it for people to enjoy. When David asks a little further, he says he also wants ‘school books for his children, so they can learn’.

Mary

I walk by the banana-lady who sides at the side of the road everyday on the way to our lunchroom. I am walking by myself that particular day, and after me greeting her she asks me
‘the woman, is that your wife?’ (referring to veron, who walked with me there a week ago, surprised she remembered)
I start smiling and reply: no, she’s just a friend.
Than she says ‘ooh, I want to be your friend too’,
that’s oke, I say, you can be my friend as well.
what is your name?
My name is JANNO
When I see her struggling pronouncing my name I say ‘you can call be yellow, yellow like the banana’s you sell’
She smiles ‘oke yellow, I am mary’
On our way back she calls me and gives me two of her bananas ‘for you’.
I thank her and buy some of her banana’s as well.
This morning we met again, I shake her hand and ask how she is doing today.
‘I have something for you’
‘Again’, I respond, you don’t have to do that
After a few minutes searching her bag she retrieves the grubby note she wrote for me earlier, it says ’to Yellow’. That must be me. My hearts melts reading it ‘Dear Yellow, How are you by moment. But me, I am okay, yellow, me, I want to be my penpal. It okay for you? Give your number to your phone. Yours, mary’ So, now I have a new penpal:) I have to write her a note soon, cause that’s what penpals do.

People like Jefferson and Mary move me, they have such a small role in this world, but they set great examples for me to follow. The same goes for teeth I introduced to you earlier, who still politely answers questions with ’yes, please’. He told me today he showed the pictures of the MDG-run I sent him to his children. His children were laughing and couldn’t believe their father ran it, they asked him who the white man was. He responded this is Janno, he is my friend, now they decided they want to meet me. Teeth also tells me that he is a little sad at the moment because his oldest son drinks so much. Teeth never drinks, he saved for two years for him to go to college, but his results are bad because of the drinking. Now he used the money to pay for his nephew’s university, who lost his parents when he was just three years old (17% of the population is HIV-infected). Teeth takes care of him now.
These wrinkles intrigue me, they are a reason for me to be on this very continent. Living here somehow brings you back to the bare basics of life; life in its raw form. In Africa there seems to be more tears and more joy at the same time. Because life is short and you never know what tomorrow holds in store for you, people tend to experience the now more intens. For me there is a well of wisdom hidden on this continent. Looking forward to the months to come:)

Wist-je-dat…
* ik me verjaardag tussen de olifanten en krokodillen heb gevierd. we hadden ons eerste weekendje weg. We hadden een compleet national park voor onszelf. David kende de owner en we konden gratis verblijven in luxeuse lodges aan de rivier waar de dieren kwamen om te drinken. In een gebied van 25km2, waren wij de enige tussen al het wild, so nice. Sterrehemel was prachtig, al was het s'nachts buitenlopen best eng, er lopen daar ook gewoon luipaarden en leeuwen rond you see.
* ze hier ipv waarschuwingsdriehoeken, om de tien meter takken op de weg leggen om je te waarschuwen voor weer een andere omgeslagen truck op de weg.
* we onderweg naar het park jagers tegekwamen, met 'bushmeat'op hun rug.
* ik inmiddels ook al contact heb gelegd met een andere miss zambia (1999 in dit geval), ben benieuwd hoeveel ik er nog tegenkom..
* vandaag gestemd wordt in zambia, het is uitgestorven op straat, iedereen staat in lange rijen om te gaan stemmen. ben benieuwd wat het gaat worden (wij van de vn lopen hele dag met radio;s stand-by rond, vind het maar onzin, dat radiotaaltje is wel grappig, ik moet zeggen: UN control room, this is lima (betekent lusaka) foxtrot (betekent wfp) en dan mijn nummer, do you read me? Loud and clear. Copy roger, over and out.)

  • 30 Oktober 2008 - 09:25

    Mama:

    Hoi Janno,
    Las net je kersvers berichtje, je schrijft leuk!
    In Oost Congo dreigt een humanitaire ramp, wist je natuurlijk al.
    Hoe gaat je project bottom up om de boeren te helpen?
    Vandaag is Ak thuis, and you think!!My house needs a shine.
    We bidden voor jou en Veron dat jullie fruitfull kunnen zijn

    liefs Mama

  • 30 Oktober 2008 - 09:28

    Mama:

    Hoi Janno,

    Sprak gisteren Sohela, Goedarz die slimmerd is Cum Laude geslaagd, ze was zo trots, en ik ben er ook zo blij om. Hij woont nu in Nijmegen en studeert daar en doet zelfs een tweede studie. Ik ga een pen bij van Manen kopen met zijn naam erin gegraveerd.
    Wist je dit al!

    liefs mama

  • 30 Oktober 2008 - 10:42

    Emma (TNT GEP 2008):

    Hoi Janno!

    Wat ontzettend leuk om je verhalen te lezen. Ik word er helemaal jaloers van. Je schrijft erg leuk. Zo te lezen vermaken jij en Veron je uitstekend. Hoe is het werk, las kort iets over je project Purchase for Progress. Sluit het een beetje aan bij wat je hoopte te gaan doen? Zag dat je ook nog naar de bruiloft van je broer kon gaan, mooi zo! Heel veel succes en plezier nog de komende maanden, blijf jullie in de gaten houden.

    Groeten, Emma

  • 30 Oktober 2008 - 10:44

    Liesl:

    Broertje you make my heart cry while my face smiles.

  • 02 November 2008 - 15:35

    Randy:

    Yo bro,
    Goed bezig daar. Heb net ff wat berichtjes gelezen. Klinkt cool allemaal. Vooral die halve marathon was een echte janno-actie.

    Het leven hier in de UB is wel eenzaam zonder jou.

    keep in touch. be blessed.

    Randy

  • 04 November 2008 - 10:51

    Bas:

    Heej Janno,

    Ik kan je manier van verhalen vertellen over Jefferson en Mary erg waarderen! Maar over dat penpal-gebeuren: gaan jullie nu elke keer een briefje aan elkaar geven terwijl je elkaar dan dus ook ziet?!

    PS. ik begreep via de NOS dat je het niet geworden was in Zambia...hoe kan dat nou?

  • 04 November 2008 - 11:37

    Thijs:

    Jo Janno!!
    Eindelijk even tijd genomen om je berichtjes (de meerderheid iig) te lezen. Erg leuk om te lezen natuurlijk en goed om te horen dat Afrika je weer bevalt ;). Wil er nu bijna zelf heen! Vooral dit bericht is erg bijzonder, open, intiem en oprecht. Ish mooi he, ja isha mooi!
    Oh en je bent goed bezig met foto's maken, stuk (and that's an understatement) dan die van Tanzania. Keep it up. Ik ben benieuwd naar de foto's van Jefferson en Mary.

  • 06 November 2008 - 14:46

    Thea Selders:

    Hallo Janno, je mooie verslagen met veel moeite gelezen, moeite, omdat het met mijn engels niet zo goed gesteld is. Ik wilde jou vragen, als dit voor jou mogelijk is, om in het nederlands een verslag per mail aan mij te sturen zodat ik dit in het contactblad kan zetten en meer mensen betrokken kunnen zijn en je zullen dragen in gebed. Heel veel zegen en voorspoed. Liefde Thea Slders.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Janno

Welkom op mijn reislog. Ik ben Janno van der Laan, afgestudeerd politicologie en ontwikkelingsstudies. Van juni tot Oktober werk ik in Zambia als consultant bij het opzetten van waarhuizen zodat boeren hun producten kunnen verkopen over de agriculturele market exchange genaamd ZAMACE, om zo een eerlijke prijs te ontvangen en de markt te professionaliseren. Mijn taak is om waarhuizen klaar te maken om maize van de kleine boer te ontvangen. Deze periode volgt op een stage die ik hier bij het World Food Programme heb gelopen. Het vormt het begin van mij ontdekkingstocht in de ontwikkelingswereld waar ik later graag zelf in kom te werken. Dus wederom doe ik het Afrikaans continent aan en ben benieuwd wat me deze keer te wachten staat. Op deze reislog lees je hoe het me vergaat.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 280
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78980

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juni 2010 - 13 Juli 2010

Farming in Ethiopia

20 Mei 2009 - 05 Oktober 2009

Back 2 Africa

Landen bezocht: